Mayor & City Council
The Mayor & City Council regular meeting is held on the 2nd Monday of each month at 7:00pm in Council Chambers at City Hall, unless otherwise indicated.
Theodore W. Becker - Mayor
(302) 645-8726

Mr. Becker has been a member of the City Council since May 2004. He was appointed Deputy Mayor & Treasurer in June 2011 and elected Mayor in May 2014. He is currently a managing partner of Stewart Becker Properties in Lewes. He has worked as a program manager for the US Division of Special Education; the U.S. Department of Education; and served in the U.S. Army and U.S. Army Reserves from 1978-1996. Mr. Becker has a Bachelor of Science Degree from Ohio State University in occupational therapy and attended George Washington University where he studied public administration. Mayor Becker is chair of the Mitigation Planning Team.
Fred W. Beaufait - Deputy Mayor
(302) 644-1498

Mr. Beaufait was elected to the City Council in May 2011 and appointed Deputy Mayor in May 2014. He has been a resident of Lewes since 2004, when he retired with his wife Lois. Fred received his BS in civil engineering from Mississippi State University, a MS in structural engineering from the University of Kentucky and his PhD. in structural engineering from Virginia Tech. Early in his professional career he worked for a private consulting firm and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. Mr. Beaufait enjoyed a 46-year career in higher education from professor to college president. He was a registered professional engineer in Tennessee, West Virginia and Michigan. He is active in the Lewes Presbyterian Church and serves on the Board of Trustees on the Rehoboth Art League. Deputy Mayor Beaufait is currently Chair of the Traffic Safety Management Advisory Committee; and Ex-officio on the Commercial Architectural Review Commission
Bonnie Osler - Councilperson/Treasurer
(302) 645-4853

Bonnie Osler was elected to City Council in 2012 and serves as Treasurer. Ms. Osler has been a Lewes homeowner since 1993. Prior to her retirement, Councilperson Osler worked as an attorney at the U.S. Department of Justice and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, as well as in private practice. She is a graduate of Bryn Mawr College and the University of Virginia School of Law. Ms. Osler serves on the board of directors of the Greater Lewes Community Village and formerly served on the board of directors of the Historic Lewes Farmers Market. Councilperson Osler chairs the Finance Committee, and serves as ex-officio on the Historic Preservation Commission.
Dennis Reardon - Councilperson/Secretary
(302) 644-7107

Mr. Reardon served on the Lewes Planning Commission before being elected to City Council on May 10, 2013. A Delaware native, Dennis became a Lewes homeowner in the 1970's and a resident in 2006. He is a graduate of La Salle University and the University of Baltimore, School of Law. He retired in 2010 after 22 years with the State of Delaware and 24 years in private industry. Mr. Reardon serves on the board of directors of the Overfalls Foundation and the Mid-Delmarva Board of the Blood Bank of Delmarva. Councilperson Reardon currently sits on the Traffic Safety Management Advisory Committee, is ex-officio on the Mitigation Planning Team and ex-officio on the Lewes Planning Commission. He is also City Council's liaison to the Sussex County Council.
Rob Morgan - Councilperson
(302) 644-2791

Rob Morgan was elected to Lewes City Council in 2014. Before his election to the Council, he sat on the City's Finance Committee and Planning Commission. He and his wife, Janice Erich, have owned a home in Lewes since 1998, moving here permanently in 2009. Before his retirement in 2010, Mr. Morgan worked for a private law firm, the U.S. Attorney's Office in DC, and as an attorney in private industry. He graduated from Yale College, Harvard Business School, and the University of Virginia Law School, and Mr. Morgan serves as President of the Greater Lewes Civic Coalition and as General Counsel to the National Wildlife Refuge Association. Councilperson Morgan is ex-officio to the Parks & Recreation Commission and the Lewes Bicycle & Pedestrian Advisory Committee. He is also Council Liaison to Sussex County Council.